City Council Minutes Special Meeting October 9, 2018 ~ 5:00PM City Hall, Delta Junction, Alaska

A special meeting of the Delta Junction City Council was held on Tuesday, October 9, 2018 at City Hall. Mayor Musgrove called the meeting to order at 5:00pm.

City Council members present: Mayor JW Musgrove, Deputy Mayor Freda Degnan

Pete Hallgren, Audrey Brown, Lou Heinbockel

City Council members excused: Jennifer Brant, Alan Levinson

City employees present: City Administrator Mary Leith, Administrative Assistant Flower Cole

City Clerk Pat White

One member from the community was present.

Certify Election Results

White reported 61 ballots were cast in the 2018 election, 60 at the polls and one absentee. Voter turnout in the City precinct (608) was 7%.

- Incumbent Lou Heinbockel received 48 votes for Seat A. There were seven write-ins for precinct residents, one with two votes, plus one write-in that was not registered in the State of Alaska.
- Charles Lester received 53 votes for Seat E. Nat Good, a City precinct resident, received one write-in vote. One write-in was cast for someone not registered in Alaska, one for a resident of Nenana, and one for a Deltana resident.
- Two changes were made to the list of election officials (approved August 21): Cheryl Good replaced Kay Sherman on October 2 and Daniel Case replaced Rena Case on October 3.
- Questioned and absentee ballots are normally held until the Canvass Board meets for the recount. A process is followed to determine eligibility of questioned voters before ballots are added, scrambled, and opened with absentee ballots. It was decided on October 1 that two absentee ballots would not be returned (postmarked by October 2 and received by October 12), so they were considered spoiled. There were no questioned ballots and one more absentee ballot. To keep the lone ballot confidential, all three election judges agreed to add it to the poll ballots before the box was opened at 8:00pm on October 2, after the polls closed. The initial ballot count on October 2 matched the ballot recount on October 3 (150 ballots printed, 60 poll votes, zero questioned ballots, two spoiled, one absentee, and 87 leftover ballots that were not used).

Brown moved to certify the 2018 municipal election results; Hallgren seconded.

Motion passed unanimously on a roll call vote with five in attendance (Degnan, Brown, Hallgren, Heinbockel, Musgrove).

Oath of Office

White swore in returning Council member Lou Heinbockel and newly-elected Councilman Charles Lester.

Elect Deputy Mayor

Musgrove reported Council members elect the Deputy Mayor each year.

Heinbockel moved to elect Freda Degnan as Deputy Mayor for another year; Hallgren seconded.

Musgrove called for other nominations with none being offered.

Motion passed on a roll call vote with five voting (Heinbockel, Brown, Hallgren, Lester, Musgrove) and one abstaining (Degnan).

Reorganize Council Interests / Reporting

<u>Musgrove</u> called for input from Council members regarding shifts and changes to Council reporting. Discussion followed regarding Freda Degnan picking up *Schools* and switching *Public Safety* for *Public Health* with Audrey Brown, Pete Hallgren replacing *Fort Greely Liaison* with *At Large* reporting, Lou Heinbockel giving up *Public Works* to Charles Lester, accepting *Park / Recreation* and adding *Cemetery*, and attendance at the Alaska Municipal League (AML) conference in Anchorage in mid-November.

Adjournment - Degnan moved to adjourn at 5:32pm.

Pat White, City Clerk Approved: October 16, 2018