City Council Minutes Special Meeting October 8, 2019 ~ 5:00PM City Hall, Delta Junction, Alaska

A special meeting of the Delta Junction City Council was held on Tuesday, October 8, 2019 at City Hall. Mayor Musgrove called the meeting to order at 5:05pm.

City Council members present: Mayor JW Musgrove, Deputy Mayor Freda Degnan

Alan Levinson, Audrey Brown, Lou Heinbockel, Pete Hallgren (telephonically)

City Council member excused: Charles Lester

City employees present: City Administrator Mary Leith, Administrative Assistant Flower Cole

City Clerk Pat White

Michael Prestegard monitored radio equipment while the meeting was broadcast over KDHS 95.5.

Certify Election Results

Musgrove reported the Certificate of Election is a true copy of the Canvass Board Report, dated October 2, 2019. [63 ballots were cast in the October 1, 2019 election: 61 at the polls, including one questioned ballot that did not qualify, and two absentee ballots. Voter turnout was 7%. Incumbent JW Musgrove received 56 votes for Seat B and there were two write-ins for precinct residents and one write-in for a Deltana resident that did not count. Incumbent Freda Degnan received 53 votes for Seat D and there were five qualified write-ins. Incumbent Alan Levinson received 54 votes for Seat G and there was one qualified write-in and three that did not count. One questioned ballot was not counted because the voter's information was not updated before September 1.]

Heinbockel moved to certify the 2019 municipal election results as presented; Degnan seconded.

Motion passed on a roll call vote with six in attendance (Hallgren, Heinbockel, Degnan, Brown, Levinson, Musgrove).

Oath of Office

White swore in returning Council members JW Musgrove, Freda Degnan, and Alan Levinson.

Elect Mayor

Musgrove referenced Alaska Statute §44.62.310(a), "... the vote shall be conducted in such a manner that the public may know the vote of each person entitled to vote" and "This section does not apply to any votes required ... to organize a governmental body ..." and said the same Alaska Statute and City Code §1.10.040(f) require all voting be by roll call vote when one or more Council member participates by teleconference. Musgrove said the agenda was amended because the mayor and deputy mayor would be elected by a voice vote (roll call), not by ballot.

Musgrove called for nominations.

<u>Brown</u> moved to elect JW Musgrove as Mayor for the length of his term, through October 2022; Hallgren seconded. Heinbockel moved to close nominations for mayor; Brown seconded.

Musgrove called for objections to close nominations with none being offered.

Motion passed on a roll call vote with six in attendance (Heinbockel, Brown, Levinson, Degnan, Hallgren, Musgrove).

Elect Deputy Mayor

Musgrove called for nominations.

Heinbockel moved to elect Freda Degnan as Deputy Mayor for another year; Musgrove seconded.

Hallgren moved to close nominations for deputy mayor; Brown seconded.

Musgrove called for objections to close nominations with none being offered.

Motion passed on a roll call vote with six in attendance (Brown, Levinson, Heinbockel, Hallgren, Degnan, Musgrove). Discussion followed regarding updating the election code, the deputy mayor elected annually (§1.10.050) and the mayor elected "by and from the Council for a term equal in length to a Council member's term (§1.25.020), and whether to change the length of the mayor's term in the code rewrite without cutting the current term of three years.

Approved: October 15, 2019

Restructure Council Interests / Reporting

Musgrove called for input from Council members regarding changes to Council reporting.

Brown reported she and Degnan agreed that Brown would take *Public Health* reporting.

Adjournment - Brown moved to adjourn at 5:29pm; Heinbockel seconded.

Pat White, City Clerk

