City Council Minutes Special Meeting October 12, 2021 ~ 5:00PM City Hall, Delta Junction, Alaska

AYER

CALL TO ORDER / PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE / PRAYER

Mayor Lou Heinbockel called the meeting to order at 5:04pm.

Council members present: Mayor Lou HEINBOCKEL, Deputy Mayor Pete HALLGREN,

Alan LEVINSON, Michael PRESTEGARD, Erin CATTERSON

Council excused: Charles LESTER

Staff present: City Administrator Mary Leith, Library Director Tiki Levinson, City Clerk Pat White Emily Dove and JW Musgrove attended in person, along with family members of the newly-elected and newspaper reporter Tim Holoday.

CERTIFY ELECTION RESULTS

<u>White</u> reported 74 ballots were cast at the polls during the October 5, 2021 Municipal Election. Four early/absentee votes were added on October 6 when the Canvass Board met. There was an 8% voter turnout; 78 ballots cast out of 928 registered voters in the City precinct (608).

- Seat A Emily Dove received 36 write-in votes. Doris Fales and Lou Heinbockel each received two writein votes. Seven other write-ins received one vote each.
- Seat B Erin Catterson ran unopposed. She received 70 votes. Two other write-ins received one vote each.
- Seat D Lou Heinbockel received 27 write-in votes. Greg Overturf received five write-in votes. Clayton Stagmier and Emily Dove each received three write-in votes. John Lyons and Sandy Hill each received two write-in votes. Ten other write-ins received one vote each.
- Seat E JW Musgrove received 28 write-in votes. Lance Stricklin received six write-in votes. John Lyons and David Schmidt each received five write-in votes. Lou Heinbockel and Laural Jackson each received two write-in votes. Five other write-ins received one vote each.

White reported Lou Heinbockel and JW Musgrove advertised write-in campaigns in the local newspaper, so it was public knowledge. The City could not advertise on their behalf, but election officials could answer questions from voters regarding the spelling of their names and which seat they were running for. They were asked four times. Lou Heinbockel was misspelled, but counted seven times. JW Musgrove was misspelled/counted three times. Emily Dove, who ran a write-in campaign via Facebook, was misspelled/counted twice.

Motion: Levinson moved to certify the 2021 election results as presented by the City Clerk; Hallgren seconded. Motion passed on a roll call with five in attendance (Prestegard, Hallgren, Catterson, Levinson, Heinbockel).

OATH OF OFFICE

<u>White</u> administered the Oath of Office to returning Council members Erin Catterson, Lou Heinbockel, and JW Musgrove and to newly-elected, Emily Dove.

<u>Hallgren</u> announced that the newly-elected terms begin Monday, October 18 and the Council body will elect a mayor and deputy mayor at the beginning of the meeting on October 19. The Mayor is elected by and from the Council for a term equal in length to a Council member's term (City Code §1.25.020). The Council shall annually elect a Deputy Mayor to preside at Council meetings in the absence of the Mayor. The Deputy Mayor shall serve at the pleasure of the Council (§1.10.050).

<u>Heinbockel</u> said when a mayor is elected for a three-year term, there are two consecutive elections without the option of changing mayors. For that reason, he will not vote to nominate a mayor with a three-year term.

ADJOURNMENT – 5:11pm

Lou Heinbockel, Mayor

CITY SEAL

Pat White, City Clerk

Approved: October 19, 2021