City Council Minutes Special Meeting October 10, 2023 ~ 5:00PM City Hall, Delta Junction, Alaska



CALL TO ORDER / PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE / PRAYER

Mayor JW Musgrove called the meeting to order at 5:00pm.

Council members present: Mayor JW MUSGROVE, Mike PRESTEGARD, Pete HALLGREN, Pamela RAWSON Council members excused: Travis RIESNER, Deputy Mayor Emily DOVE, Igor ZAREMBA City employees present: City Administrator Ken Greenleaf, Administrative Assistant Flower Cole, City Clerk Pat White

Public present: Two people were in the audience. The meeting was not on Zoom, nor was it broadcast over KDHS 95.5 FM radio.

CERTIFY ELECTION RESULTS

2.30.030(a) - The Council shall meet on the second Tuesday of the month in public session to receive the report of the Election Canvass Board. If, after considering said report, the Council determines that the election was validly held, such conclusion shall be declared and entered upon the minutes of the meeting together with the total number of votes cast for each candidate and for or against each proposition or question.

White reported:

• Ballots were counted between 8:00 and 8:38pm on October 3. They were recounted between 4:00 and 4:36pm on October 6. There were no early ballots and no questioned ballots. Sixty-two ballots were cast at the polls, equal to 6% of the 991 registered precinct voters.

• Michael Prestegard received 48 votes for Seat C, a three-year term. There were eight valid write-ins. Alan Levinson and Earl McNabb received two votes each. The other four (Sherry Heinbockel, Daniel R. Lewis, John Lyons, Mary Leith) received one vote each. One vote was cast for a Deltana resident, which was not counted.

• Pete Hallgren received 49 votes for Seat F, a three-year term. There were eight valid write-ins. Mary Leith received two votes and the other six (Doris Fales, Jimmy Rogers, Alan Levinson, Daniel R. Lewis, Terri Crowson, Jacob White) received one vote each. One vote was cast for a Deltana resident, which was not counted. Motion: Hallgren moved to certify the 2023 election results as presented; Prestegard seconded. Motion passed on a roll call with four in attendance (Rawson, Prestegard, Hallgren, Musgrove).

SWEAR IN NEW OFFICERS

1.20.010 - All City officers, before taking office, shall affirm in writing that they will honestly, faithfully and impartially perform their duties. The oath shall be filed with the City Clerk.

White administered the Oath of Office to Michael Prestegard and Pete Hallgren.

[Note: The Council would elect a Deputy Mayor, required annually per City Code §1.10.050, at the next regular meeting on October 17 as well as reorganize Council interests and reporting, if necessary.]

ADJOURNMENT – 5:08pm

JW Musgrove, Mayor SEAL Pat White, City Clerk

Approved: October 17, 2023