

ORDINANCE 2025-02

AN ORDINANCE AMENDING CHAPTER 3.21, SANITARY LANDFILL, SECTION 3.21.100, FEES, AUTHORIZING A LANDFILL RATE INCREASE FROM \$160.00 PER TON TO \$240.00 PER TON

Section 1. Classification – This ordinance is permanent and is intended to be a part of the Code of Ordinances of the City of Delta Junction.

Section 2. General Provisions – The City Council established landfill rates for solid waste at 12¢ per pound or \$240.00 per ton and rates for septic waste at 12¢ per gallon, both effective July 1, 2024, to be revisited in October 2024 and January 2025.

Section 3. The City Council increased landfill rates by 4¢ per pound, allocating 3¢ toward support of emergency services.

Section 4. The City Council chooses not to increase the \$5.00 minimum fee for solid waste.

Section 5. Hereafter solid waste rates will increase to twelve cents (12¢) per pound or two-hundred forty dollars (\$240.00) per ton and septic waste rates will increase to twelve cents (12¢) per gallon, effective immediately.

Section 6. Enactment sections §3.21.100(a) and (b) are hereby enacted to read as follows:

3.21.100 Fees:

(a) Commercial and non-commercial refuse haulers, contractors, and individuals requiring the use of the disposal area will be assessed a fee of two-hundred forty dollars (\$240.00) per ton (2,000 U.S. pounds) or twelve cents (12ϕ) per pound for solid waste refuse. Solid waste, less than eighty (80) pounds, will be charged a five-dollar (\$5.00) minimum fee.

(b) Septage waste haulers, holding a current municipal septage permit, shall pay a fee of twelve cents (12ϕ) per U.S. gallon of septic waste deposited in the septage treatment system.

This ordinance becomes effective February 18, 2025.

Introduction:	February 4, 2025		
First Reading:	February 4, 2025		
Public Hearing:	February 18, 2025		
Second Reading:	February 18, 2025		
Adoption:	February 18, 2025		

ADOPTED by a duly constituted quorum of the City Council of Delta Junction this 18th day of February 2025.

Igor Zaremba, Mayor

CITY SEAL

Pat White, City Clerk

	YES	NO	ABSENT	ABSTAIN
Seat A: Leith				
Seat B: Mitchell				
Seat C: Prestegard				
Seat D: Zaremba				
Seat E: Stricklin				
Seat F: Hallgren				
Seat G: Riesner				